Fix dynamic contempt for MultiPV
authorOndrej Mosnáček <omosnacek@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Mar 2018 15:47:45 +0000 (16:47 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 27 Mar 2018 15:14:55 +0000 (17:14 +0200)
commit367304e930e967d90523025b34f25c2a9b60de8f
tree9566ad942bd0ef2f89760eb1f4b6b7a1a7390467
parent8ff2fcf299ac621779dc167ce750ba73aaae90a4
Fix dynamic contempt for MultiPV

Use rootMoves[PVIdx].previousScore instead of bestValue for
dynamic contempt. This is equivalent for MultiPV=1 (bench remained the
same, even for higher depths), but more correct for MultiPV.

STC (MultiPV=3):
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 2657 W: 1079 L: 898 D: 680
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aaa47cb0ebc590297330403

LTC (MultiPV=3):
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 2390 W: 874 L: 706 D: 810
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aaa593a0ebc59029733040b

VLTC 240+2.4 (MultiPV=3):
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 2399 W: 861 L: 694 D: 844
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aaf983e0ebc5902a182131f

LTC (MultiPV=4, Skill Level=17):
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 747 W: 333 L: 175 D: 239
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aabccee0ebc5902997ff006

Note: although the ELO differences seem huge, they are inflated by the
nature of Skill Level / MultiPV search, so I don't think they can be
reasonably compared with classic ELO strength.

See https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1491 for some
verifications searches with MultiPV = 10 at depths 12 and 24 from the
starting position and the position after 1.e4, comparing the outputs
of the full PV by the old master and by this patch.

No functional change for MultiPV=1
src/search.cpp