Use fail soft in null search
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 20 Mar 2010 11:42:23 +0000 (12:42 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 21 Mar 2010 14:12:44 +0000 (15:12 +0100)
commit426f55b78d8d83ad779772dc46ad4f645177c4c4
tree42c7a90fc11d167d2d4a22d856d71ca5e971d6a0
parentb638f6b0354ea124dc80e5e38189474d34141e2d
Use fail soft in null search

If null search fails high return null value instead of beta.

With TT hash there may be a small advantage for fail-soft since
storing slightly better bounds may cause slightly more hash hits.

After 990 games at 1+0
Mod vs Orig +171 =665 -154  +6 ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp