Unsafe checks
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Fri, 6 May 2016 13:40:56 +0000 (09:40 -0400)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 6 May 2016 18:04:57 +0000 (20:04 +0200)
commit4b9ed6566a7ed026160fc79b778f95e62fde22a1
tree25e915326fd37dfa948d300c3f9103b1efb29a40
parent5e4cd3fc0d4b88eeb09ae458b9cb9f73db8c4ae7
Unsafe checks

Introducing a new multi-purpose penalty related to King safety, which
includes all kind of potential checks (from unsafe or unavailable
squares currently occupied by some other piece)

This will indirectly detect and reward some pins, discovered checks, and
motifs such as square vacation, or rook behind its pawn and aligned with
King (example Black Rg8, g7 against Kg1),
and penalize some pawn blockers (if they move, it allows a discovered
check by the pawn).

And since it looks also at protected squares, it detects some potential
defense overloading.

Finally, the rook contact checks had been removed some time ago. This
test will give a small bonus for them, as well as for bishop contact
checks.

Passed STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5729ec740ebc59301a354b36
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 13306 W: 2477 L: 2296 D: 8533

and LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/572a5be00ebc59301a354b65
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 20369 W: 2750 L: 2565 D: 15054

bench: 9298175
src/evaluate.cpp