Small bonus to favor thorn pawns
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 16 Jun 2020 11:21:24 +0000 (13:21 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 17 Jun 2020 05:35:58 +0000 (07:35 +0200)
commit4c72c95359e28ea3e5a4357a7679de794ebd3e55
treea5bd79dbd349a33a176228bf9ad71a4afc9ae2e2
parent1ea488d34c0b6a03fa3d89d289fe72fd1408cafd
Small bonus to favor thorn pawns

We increase a little bit the midgame value of pawns on a4, h4, a6 and h6.

Original idea by Malcolm Campbell, who tried the version restricted to the
pawns on the H column a couple of weeks ago and got a patch which almost
passed LTC. The current pull request just adds the same idea for pawns on
the A column.

Possible follow-ups: maybe tweak the a5/h5 pawn values, and/or add a malus
for very low king mobility in midgame?

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 33416 W: 6516 L: 6275 D: 20625
Ptnml(0-2): 575, 3847, 7659, 4016, 611
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ee6c4e687586124bc2c10d4

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 134368 W: 16869 L: 16319 D: 101180
Ptnml(0-2): 908, 12083, 40708, 12521, 964
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ee74e60aae8aec816ab756a

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2747

Bench: 5299456
src/psqt.cpp