Include pawns in NNUE scaling
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 28 Sep 2020 20:32:55 +0000 (22:32 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 28 Sep 2020 20:42:26 +0000 (22:42 +0200)
commit5af09cfda5b71f9470ef233298e0f4233651337d
tree20688573cf5bc6229560b4d57c003851c30a1807
parent6f0aa186d8c9ead30a107634c438c6339b9cba09
Include pawns in NNUE scaling

We now include the total pawn count in the scaling factor for the output
of the NNUE evaluation network. This should have the effect of trying to
keep more pawns when SF has the advantage, but exchange them when she
is defending.

Thanks to Alexander Pagel (Lolligerhans) for the idea of using the
value of pawns to ease the comparison with the rest of the material
estimation.

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 15072 W: 1700 L: 1539 D: 11833
Ptnml(0-2): 65, 1202, 4845, 1355, 69
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f7235a63b22d6afa50699b3

Passed LTC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 25880 W: 1270 L: 1124 D: 23486
Ptnml(0-2): 23, 980, 10788, 1126, 23
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f723b483b22d6afa5069a99

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3164

Bench: 3776081
src/evaluate.cpp