Do not adjust Minimum Split Depth automatically
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Fri, 24 Jul 2009 14:34:41 +0000 (17:34 +0300)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2009 02:36:20 +0000 (03:36 +0100)
commit5be3d98d175e22b182bbef3a3085c0828a3baf77
tree10ef195b4619cb7f0814cca9e1d4b61ef8898cff
parent5b3fcab1adf9407c97992f8827b2c180d2848308
Do not adjust Minimum Split Depth automatically

Currently minimum split depth is set automatically to 6
when number of CPUs is more than 4. I believe this is a bad
idea since for example my quad (4CPU with hyperthreading) is
detected as 8CPU computer. I've manually lowered down the number
of Threads, but so far I have played all games with Minimum
Split Depth set to 6!

Since 4CPU computers with hyperthreading are quite common and
8 CPU computers extremely rear (I expect we can get a direct
jump to 16 or 32 cores), this automatic adjusting is likely
to do more harm than good. Add a note in Readme.txt, so that
those rear 8CPU owners can manually tweak the "Minimum Split
Depth" parameter

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Readme.txt
src/ucioption.cpp