Increase pruning if evaluation is not improving
authorEelco de Groot <eelcogro@gmail.com>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 23:16:25 +0000 (01:16 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 28 Jul 2013 23:21:21 +0000 (01:21 +0200)
commit5ee16a180a7eb3f51f7cabd86cf17d8c217b13b3
tree807c8b873009986d1dd308074d66cfaa90da004e
parentd30dfc084c8601280bae2041fe781d93b099ce7b
Increase pruning if evaluation is not improving

Add an additional set of margins to movecount pruning
to be used when static evaluation is getting worse
than previous move.

Here are the margins table with changing
depth (fm0 not improving, fm1 improving):

    d: 0, fm0: 3, fm1: 3
    d: 1, fm0: 4, fm1: 4
    d: 2, fm0: 6, fm1: 6
    d: 3, fm0: 7, fm1: 10
    d: 4, fm0: 11, fm1: 15
    d: 5, fm0: 15, fm1: 21
    d: 6, fm0: 21, fm1: 29
    d: 7, fm0: 27, fm1: 37
    d: 8, fm0: 35, fm1: 47
    d: 9, fm0: 42, fm1: 57
    d: 10, fm0: 51, fm1: 68
    d: 11, fm0: 60, fm1: 81
    d: 12, fm0: 70, fm1: 94
    d: 13, fm0: 81, fm1: 108
    d: 14, fm0: 92, fm1: 123
    d: 15, fm0: 104, fm1: 139

Good at both short TC

LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 11502 W: 2503 L: 2361 D: 6638

And long TC

LLR: 2.98 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 7189 W: 1421 L: 1277 D: 4491

bench: 4364793
src/search.cpp
src/types.h