Remove std::pow from reduction. (#2234)
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Sun, 14 Jul 2019 12:46:10 +0000 (06:46 -0600)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 14 Jul 2019 12:46:10 +0000 (14:46 +0200)
commit650aeaf2420bdac00de03963132d82a415193a1c
tree8b0a326f5f67fd61e7983013294cf93690234e11
parent13ba67801f0331e3ffde23794b989765af5a9aa2
Remove std::pow from reduction. (#2234)

This is a functional simplification that removes the std::pow from reduction. The resulting reduction values are within 1% of master.

This is a simplification because i believe an fp addition and multiplication is much faster than a call to std::pow() which is historically slow and performance varies widely on different architectures.

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 23471 W: 5245 L: 5127 D: 13099
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d27ac1b0ebc5925cf0d476b

LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 51533 W: 8736 L: 8665 D: 34132
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d27b74e0ebc5925cf0d493c

Bench 3765158
src/search.cpp