Parallelize Link Time Optimization for GCC, CLANG and MINGW
authorGuy Vreuls <guyvreuls@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2020 10:45:10 +0000 (12:45 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2020 20:35:18 +0000 (22:35 +0200)
commit6d6267c378aa0aa354e203e5025361d9a4e0d449
tree3f4e74bd01a2f7ff7fe2b7e83bc393331a1ac05c
parente663bc533020183c0c52eaf877a91422c9c80742
Parallelize Link Time Optimization for GCC, CLANG and MINGW

This patch tries to run multiple LTO threads in parallel, speeding up
the build process of optimized builds if the -j make parameter is used.
This mitigates the longer linking times of optimized builds since the
integration of the NNUE code. Roughly 2x build speedup.

I've tried a similar patch some two years ago but it ran into trouble
with old compiler versions then. Since we're on the C++17 standard now
these old compilers should be obsolete.

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2943

No functional change.
src/Makefile