Add penalty for doubled pawns in agile structure
authorLolligerhans <lolligerhans@gmx.de>
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 13:30:25 +0000 (14:30 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 08:35:59 +0000 (09:35 +0100)
commit77eeea407c9d10cf6dbca6f4e07efbbe836c4fb0
treec6850a01ce7d27b20427ff78d36bf712875ee549
parent6dddcecb09df268d93810a1a38deb116f97672af
Add penalty for doubled pawns in agile structure

Give an additional penalty of S(20, 10) for any doubled pawn if none of
the opponent's pawns is facing any of our
 - pawns or
 - pawn attacks;
that means, each of their pawns can push at least one square without
being captured.
This ignores their non-pawns pieces and attacks.

One possible justification: Their pawns' ability to push freely provides
options to react to our threats by changing their pawn structure. Our
doubled pawns however will likely lead to an exploitable weakness, even
if the pawn structure is not yet fixed.

Note that the notion of "their pawns not being fixed" is symmetric for
both players: If all of their pawns can push freely so can ours. All
pawns being freely pushable might just be an early-game-indicator.
However, it can trigger during endgame pawns races, where doubled pawns
are especially hindering, too.

LTC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 134976 W: 17964 L: 17415 D: 99597
Ptnml(0-2): 998, 12702, 39619, 13091, 1078
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ffdd5316019e097de3ef281

STC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 35640 W: 7219 L: 6904 D: 21517
Ptnml(0-2): 645, 4096, 8084, 4289, 706
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ffda4a16019e097de3ef265

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3302

Bench: 4363873
src/pawns.cpp