Use single param for Outpost and ReachableOutpost.
author31m059 <37052095+31m059@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 23 Feb 2020 02:27:32 +0000 (21:27 -0500)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Tue, 25 Feb 2020 20:03:42 +0000 (21:03 +0100)
commit8352977b91d9246618c7273d59400a4a05a32e2a
treedbc019d80029b9dd14a7033662a5825fd2d0c08f
parentb8c00efa2767ebf74545d2ba4bd344ef7c963319
Use single param for Outpost and ReachableOutpost.

In November 2019, as a result of the simplification of rank-based outposts by 37698b0,
separate bonuses were introduced for outposts that are currently occupied and outposts
that are reachable on the next move. However, the values of these two bonuses are
quite similar, and they have remained that way for three months of development.

It appears that we can safely retire the separate ReachableOutpost parameter and
use the same Outpost bonus in both cases, restoring the basic principles of Stockfish
outpost evaluation to their pre-November state, while also reducing
the size of the parameter space.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 47680 W: 9213 L: 9092 D: 29375
Ptnml(0-2): 776, 5573, 11071, 5594, 826
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e51e33190a0a02810d09802

LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 14690 W: 1960 L: 1854 D: 10876
Ptnml(0-2): 93, 1381, 4317, 1435, 119
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e52197990a0a02810d0980f

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2559

Bench: 4697493
src/evaluate.cpp