Teach SEE about pinned pieces
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 Feb 2009 14:19:51 +0000 (15:19 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 Feb 2009 20:45:01 +0000 (21:45 +0100)
commit962216440c186d067d8946112acab847ccb7249f
treea2c0e70dfb33df15bf427c81a7b6755953badcff
parent243fa483d7b329ad8512c86eb152cca7a0982674
Teach SEE about pinned pieces

Remove pinned pieces from attacks when calculating
SEE value.

Algorithm is not perfect, there should be no false
positives, but can happen that we miss to remove a
pinned piece. Currently we don't cach 100% of cases,
but is a tradeoff between speed and accuracy. In any
case we stay on the safe side, so we remove an attacker
when we are sure it is pinned.

About only 0,5% of cases are affected by this patch, not
a lot given the hard work: this is a difficult patch!

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/position.cpp