Temporary revert previous patch
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 5 Nov 2012 06:28:42 +0000 (07:28 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 5 Nov 2012 06:41:28 +0000 (07:41 +0100)
commita5b1f4774f44e29ad32a93b524ad43fa2d790e1a
tree1d0073ca95734b52c1b5c4a5784c9f76b8ade30b
parent37e9802411fa122eb140ada2edfc9df3be55dbb8
Temporary revert previous patch

Performs well at very short TC of 40/4+0.05 (courtesy of Jean-Francois):
Wins: 2503 Losses: 2146 Draws: 5581 Total: 10230 +12 ELO

But is poor at longer TC of 20"+0.05
Wins: 321 Losses: 373 Draws: 1141 Total: 1808 -10 ELO

The patch was clearly a tradoff between speed and accuracy and
the most interesting part of it are test results that can be
commented as follows:

- A short TC is very sensible to any speed increase
- A longer TC is more sensible to accuracy and less to speed

So a patch that does not change speed is suitable to be tested at
short TC, while a speed/accuracy compromise patch is IMO better to
be tested at longer TC to verify loss of accuracy can be tolerated.

In this case the revert is only temporary. We will come back again
once we will be able to preserve the evaluation margin.

bench: 5809010
src/search.cpp