Rework the "unsupported" penalty into a "supported" bonus
authorRocky640 <Rocky640@users.noreply.github.com>
Wed, 2 Aug 2017 01:36:33 +0000 (18:36 -0700)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Wed, 2 Aug 2017 01:37:54 +0000 (18:37 -0700)
commitb24bd762b2aff6cac30e1ae673775ea6f6aa8d11
tree0508cb392a51918ad256f5f759c14a424b45b8b7
parent722e1e0da6187916d76a2663f98ac105bc620763
Rework the "unsupported" penalty into a "supported" bonus

A pawn (according to all the searched positions of a bench run) is not supported 85% of the time,
(in current master it is either isolated, backward or "unsupported").

So it made sense to try moving the S(17, 8) "unsupported" penalty value into the base pawn value hoping for a more representative pawn value, and accordingly
a) adjust backward and isolated so that they stay more or less the same as master
b) increase the mg connected bonus in the supported case by S(17, 0) and let the Connected formula find a suitable eg value according to rank.

Tested as a simplification SPRT(-3, 1)

Passed STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5970dbd30ebc5916ff649dd6
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 19613 W: 3663 L: 3540 D: 12410

Passed LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/597137780ebc5916ff649de3
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 24721 W: 3306 L: 3191 D: 18224

Bench: 5581946

Closes #1179
src/pawns.cpp
src/types.h