Do less futility pruning for captures.
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Tue, 23 Jun 2020 11:55:52 +0000 (14:55 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Jun 2020 19:56:11 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
commitbbe98576846ad44ca531cdb6f42bf3eefa7d47c5
tree5fb61a6ad94ff0cf8884f1bfd283fc3caf34a6ed
parente9966d9a8ec371477f49bfa0eb69fa756e078fda
Do less futility pruning for captures.

The idea of this patch is that if capture can be described as
"less valuable piece takes more valuable piece" it's not really correct
to add only piece value of captured piece to static evaluation
since there can be more threats in other places and opponent can't really
do much but recapture our capturing piece which leaves us space for
more captures thus winning more material and increasing static eval.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ef0167b122d6514328d760f
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 24736 W: 4838 L: 4607 D: 15291
Ptnml(0-2): 438, 2812, 5648, 3021, 449

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ef073bc122d6514328d7693
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 46152 W: 5865 L: 5567 D: 34720
Ptnml(0-2): 312, 4160, 13886, 4354, 364

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2761

bench 4789930
src/search.cpp