Add sse4 if bmi2 is enabled
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 12 Sep 2019 19:25:58 +0000 (21:25 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 14 Sep 2019 05:11:23 +0000 (07:11 +0200)
commitdb00e1625eb46517f61085ffd3bcd28779e71220
tree57dc72a4f2d03aa0c950a652fee8fdfaaabed07e
parent8aecf2698184babce57ccfd2ba5948342e29c325
Add sse4 if bmi2 is enabled

The only change done to the Makefile to get a somewhat faster binary as
discussed in #2291 is to add -msse4 to the compile options of the bmi2 build.
Since all processors supporting bmi2 also support sse4 this can be done easily.
It is a useful step to avoid sending around custom and poorly tested builds.

The speedup isn't enough to pass [0,4] but it is roughly 1.15Elo and a LOS of 90%:
LLR: -2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 93009 W: 20519 L: 20316 D: 52174

Also rewrite the documentation for the user when using `make --help`, so that
the order of architectures for x86-64 has the more performant build one on top.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2300

No functional change
src/Makefile