Analysis Contempt combo box
authorsyzygy1 <3028851+syzygy1@users.noreply.github.com>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 15:30:00 +0000 (17:30 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 15:49:19 +0000 (17:49 +0200)
commite9aeaad05266ca557a9496b5a17b4c5f82f0e946
treea0f7b6c235fc1563f52cbe2e59f8513abe435f00
parentae0bb6dc2b490a8879279ee741d20fcdbbfe2fd3
Analysis Contempt combo box

This patch introduces an Analysis Contempt UCI combo box to control
the behaviour of contempt during analysis. The possible values are
Both, Off, White, Black. Technically, the engine is supposed to be in
analysis mode if UCI_AnalyseMode is set by the graphical user interface
or if the user has chosen infinite analysis mode ("go infinite").

Credits: the idea for the combo box is due to Michel Van den Bergh.

No functional change (outside analysis mode).

-----------------------------------------------------

The so-called "contempt" is an optimism value that the engine adds
to one color to avoid simplifications and keep tension in the position
during its search. It was introduced in Stockfish 9 and seemed to give
good results during the TCEC 11 tournament (Stockfish seemed to play a
little bit more actively than in previous seasons).

The patch does not change the play during match or blitz play, but gives
more options for correspondance players to decide for which color(s) they
would like to use contempt in analysis mode (infinite time). Here is a
description of the various options:

* Both  : in analysis mode, use the contempt for both players (alternating)
* Off   : in analysis mode, use the contempt for none of the players
* White : in analysis mode, White will play actively, Black will play passively
* Black : in analysis mode, Black will play actively, White will play passively
src/search.cpp
src/uci.h
src/ucioption.cpp