Long Diagonal Tweaks
authorRocky640 <support@multicim.com>
Fri, 31 Aug 2018 13:30:16 +0000 (09:30 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 1 Sep 2018 02:33:17 +0000 (04:33 +0200)
commitf923dc0fe5ec831c8cb682e1a856122c8964519f
tree811320bae37883327738e22ec9f6df0103044076
parente846a9306d6108fb24cb216689867777ac2b0c4f
Long Diagonal Tweaks

a) Reduce PSQT values along the long diagonals on non-central squares
and increase the LongDiagonal bonus accordingly. The effect is to penalise
bishops on the long diagonal which can not "see" the 2 central squares.
The "good" bishops still have more or less the same bonus as current master.

b) For a bishop on a central square, because of the "| s" term in the code,
the LongDiagonalBonus was always given. So while being there, remove the "| s"
and compensate the central Bishop PSQT accordingly.

Passed STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 44498 W: 9658 L: 9323 D: 25517
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b8992770ebc592cf2748942

Passed LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 63092 W: 10324 L: 9975 D: 42793
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b89a17a0ebc592cf2748b59

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1760

bench: 4693901
src/evaluate.cpp
src/psqt.cpp