Micro-optimization in evaluate_space()
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 31 Dec 2012 10:26:12 +0000 (11:26 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 31 Dec 2012 10:34:18 +0000 (11:34 +0100)
commit009a0f88e05fde5ee16d7bac429d4c62ebe6bf53
tree22a1788a7fa2acc881033583ec55b6b1e390aacd
parente1d681458e92889ad0d261c6bb2df9444bfd1364
Micro-optimization in evaluate_space()

Since &-ing with SpaceMask restricts the set to the home
half of the board, it is possible to use just one popcount
instead of 2 by shifting "safe" to the other half of the
board. This gives a small speedup especially on systems
where hardware popcount is not available.

Patch kindly sent by Richard Vida.

No functional change.
src/evaluate.cpp