Remove piece lists
authorsyzygy1 <3028851+syzygy1@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 11:05:26 +0000 (12:05 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 15:51:01 +0000 (16:51 +0100)
commit045728a7da9dfee1746da0c5b4632a62f68c0d97
tree545af540ea5434df94848ed181de3e284083eb16
parent2bc4ae172a7897106946ab9ede5db98db331c600
Remove piece lists

This patch removes the incrementally updated piece lists from the Position object.

This has been tried before but always failed. My reasons for trying again are:

* 32-bit systems (including phones) are now much less important than they were some years ago (and are absent from fishtest);
* NNUE may have made SF less finely tuned to the order in which moves were generated.

STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.25,0.25}
Total: 55272 W: 5260 L: 5216 D: 44796
Ptnml(0-2): 208, 4147, 18898, 4159, 224
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fc2986a42a050a89f02c926

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.75,0.25}
Total: 16600 W: 673 L: 608 D: 15319
Ptnml(0-2): 14, 533, 7138, 604, 11
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5fc2f98342a050a89f02c95c

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3247

Bench: 3940967
src/endgame.cpp
src/evaluate.cpp
src/movegen.cpp
src/pawns.cpp
src/position.cpp
src/position.h