Do not use evaluate() for razoring
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 23 Sep 2008 11:03:44 +0000 (13:03 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 23 Sep 2008 21:36:51 +0000 (23:36 +0200)
commit060eef4f4e97ea1261252256c6768b243b7d3de5
tree55885132a6f940684370dd5b38d00fc72cec82f4
parent67f975e56b21f4e6b5b878eff56b40aaf0e7309d
Do not use evaluate() for razoring

Because razoring is reached 10% of times and about 50% of time
first two conditions are met we can save 5% of calls to the fairly
costly evaluate().

On the other side statistics have shown 95% of nodes that pass
the first two razoring conditions pass also the evaluate() test.
So the risk of dropping the third condition seems low enough.

Testing seems to validate this.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp