Retire run-time detection of hardware POPCNT
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 30 Dec 2011 10:30:26 +0000 (11:30 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 30 Dec 2011 11:17:03 +0000 (12:17 +0100)
commit0a6532a39d2e2cfd92ba0a2c4fa8c6ad6c29b581
tree0d9a9c03bbaeecd4388c98fc39e2381c8c0e4e8a
parent20a6f99cdb87d5877d490abceb795f7e68c5b4a6
Retire run-time detection of hardware POPCNT

It was meant to build a single binary optimized
for any kind of CPU: with and without hardware POPCNT.

This is a nice idea but in practice was never used, or
people builds binary with popcnt enabled or not, mainly
according to their type of CPU. And it was also never
used in the official Jim's builds where, in case, would
be easier for a number of reasons, do build two different
versions: with and without SEE42 support.

So retire this feature and simplify the code.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/bitboard.cpp
src/evaluate.cpp
src/main.cpp
src/misc.cpp
src/pawns.cpp
src/types.h