Tweak nnue scaling to keep more material
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 26 Sep 2020 21:19:53 +0000 (23:19 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Sep 2020 06:24:50 +0000 (08:24 +0200)
commit1dbd2a1ad548b3ca676f7da949e1a998c64b836b
tree7d27b364b372e9ec4f9c4573ebeb1a788bc04d59
parentf66c381f11b8603e2449b200227c8cfd7382b3ba
Tweak nnue scaling to keep more material

Current master uses a constant scale factor of 5/4 = 1.25 for the output
of the NNUE network, for compatibility with search and classical evaluation.
We modify this scale factor to make it dependent on the phase of the game,
going from about 1.5 in the opening to 1.0 for pure pawn endgames.

This helps Stockfish to avoid exchanges of pieces (heavy pieces in particular)
when she has the advantage, keeping more material on the board when attacking.

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 14744 W: 1771 L: 1599 D: 11374
Ptnml(0-2): 87, 1184, 4664, 1344, 93
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f6fb0a63b22d6afa506904f

Passed LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 8912 W: 512 L: 393 D: 8007
Ptnml(0-2): 7, 344, 3637, 459, 9
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f6fcf533b22d6afa5069066

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3154

Bench: 3943952
src/evaluate.cpp