Simplify RookOnPawn
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Thu, 26 Sep 2019 03:23:07 +0000 (23:23 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 27 Sep 2019 10:37:49 +0000 (12:37 +0200)
commit28dcd700a9dd3c776b66b2032cf0cf6df88b671d
tree0b8a0ef427e4ba6f053c65c44ec878a7ab0bb15a
parentd703d2b5e760edf4d34b6664f2d0552ffe424b12
Simplify RookOnPawn

Remove the RookOnPawn logic (for rook on rank 5 and above aligning with pawns
on same row or file) which was overlapping with a few other parameters.

Inspired by @31m059 interesting result hinting that a direct attack on pawns
instead of PseudoAttacks might work.
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d89a7c70ebc595091801b8d

After a few attempts by me and @31m059, and some long STC greens but red LTC,
as a proof of concept I first tried a local SPSA at VSTC trying to tune related
rook psqt rows, and mainly some rook related stuff in evaluate.cpp.
Result was STC green, but still red LTC,

Finally a 100M fishtest SPSA at LTC proved successful both at STC and LTC.

All this was possible with the awesome fishtest contributors.
At some point, I had 850 workers on the last test !

Run as a simplification

STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d8d68f40ebc590f3beaf171
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 7399 W: 1693 L: 1543 D: 4163

LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d8d70270ebc590f3beaf63c
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 41617 W: 6981 L: 6894 D: 27742

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2329

bench: 4037914
src/evaluate.cpp
src/psqt.cpp