Assign improving only once
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 10 Mar 2018 09:35:10 +0000 (10:35 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 10 Mar 2018 10:06:53 +0000 (11:06 +0100)
commit2c5dfb312205de03239cb15e79b501789c4cd067
treeb6ddc16c91e88f9195dacf23219bfbd31ddecbe5
parent1093047e7d72ed0c82e143c2cc0af9ef7b0380ed
Assign improving only once

Avoid duplicated code after recent commit "Use evaluation trend
to adjust futility margin". We initialize the improving variable
to true in the check case, which allows to avoid redundant code
in the general case.

Tested for speed by snicolet, patch seems about 0.4% faster.

No functional change.

Note: initializing the improving variable to false in the check
case was tested as a functional change, ending yellow in both STC
and LTC. This change is not included in the commit, but it is an
interesting result that could become part of a future patch about
improving or LMR. Reference of the LTC yellow test:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa131560ebc590297cb636e
src/search.cpp