Use prob cut search to prune bad captures
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Sat, 2 Apr 2011 07:15:05 +0000 (08:15 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 2 Apr 2011 07:39:54 +0000 (08:39 +0100)
commit2e8998eac94c7955633e69c04430899f4bdb7907
tree7fe3b2ac90a88d27bb5e427a623e59145765f84d
parent8402b403419ea995dcdd9f3033dfdbc5271f3450
Use prob cut search to prune bad captures

The idea is to try a shallow search with reduced beta
on bad captures so to quickly prune them out in case
are really bad.

After 5529 games 966 - 868 - 3695  ELO +6 (+- 5.4) LOS 91%

Tested also version without upper limitation to 8 plies:

After 8780 games 1537 - 1398 - 5850  ELO +5 (+- 4.3) LOS 93%

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp