Prune negative SEE moves also in PV nodes
authorLucas Braesch <lucas.braesch@gmail.com>
Thu, 21 Feb 2013 14:54:06 +0000 (09:54 -0500)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Feb 2013 07:04:32 +0000 (08:04 +0100)
commit335b57b5ef85da22b7e26cdfc1fd7b3e28dbbe8d
treece135040c47371ba25f8093a37d768412d7d0b3d
parent9a1d5f0f1d8a12a85b198688d4f1d636a146eb7a
Prune negative SEE moves also in PV nodes

This patch is actually the sum of two contributions that
have been tested independently:

1) Pruning of negative SEE moves in PV

After 10000 games at 20+0.05
ELO: 5.18 +-7 (95%) LOS: 99.2%
Total: 10000 W: 1952 L: 1803 D: 6245

2) Remove of bestValue > VALUE_MATED_IN_MAX_PLY condition

After 23000 games at 20+0.05
ELO: 1.63 +-4 (95%) LOS: 88.1%
Total: 23000 W: 4232 L: 4124 D: 14644

The whole patch as been re-tested at long TC with positive results:

After 10000 games at 60+0.05
ELO: 4.31 +-7 (95%) LOS: 98.3%
Total: 10000 W: 1765 L: 1641 D: 6594
src/search.cpp