Introduce king flank defenders
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Sat, 16 Nov 2019 11:53:11 +0000 (14:53 +0300)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sat, 16 Nov 2019 16:29:53 +0000 (17:29 +0100)
commit3468138210cacdf46051e9d5bde6e28effee2cdc
tree609ed4126bfadea3b25ed54ace392a062bce8f0e
parenta00a336946fa9e6dcfa39f8b656413d2de032a89
Introduce king flank defenders

This patch implements what we have been trying for quite some time -
dependance of kingdanger on balance of attackers and defenders of king
flank, to avoid overestimate attacking power if the opponent has enough
defenders of king position. We already have some form of it in bishop
and knight defenders - this is further work in this direction.

What to do based on this?

1) constant 4 is arbitrary, maybe it is not optimal
2) maybe we can use quadratic formula as in kingflankattack
3) simplification into alrealy existing terms is always a possibility :)
4) overall kingdanger tuning always can be done.

passed STC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5dcf40560ebc590256325f30
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 26298 W: 5819 L: 5632 D: 14847

passed LTC:
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5dcfa5760ebc590256326464
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 30600 W: 5042 L: 4784 D: 20774

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2415

Bench: 4496847
src/evaluate.cpp