Skip quiet moves based on moveCount pruning threshold and history stats
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 22:41:55 +0000 (15:41 -0700)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 22:44:49 +0000 (15:44 -0700)
commit352bd6f5aa348e15909f50266fc5bdc003df35bf
tree87e5dd71012ce56a58acc9a9d2d0a274be9b5c84
parentc80d52c845357db880817d6ed91d02986b5d5384
Skip quiet moves based on moveCount pruning threshold and history stats

If we can moveCountPrune and next quiet move has negative stats,
then go directly to the next move stage (Bad_Captures).

Reduction formula is tweaked to compensate for the decrease in move count that is used in LMR.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 6847 W: 1276 L: 1123 D: 4448

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 48687 W: 6503 L: 6226 D: 35958

Bench: 5919519

Closes #1036
src/movepick.cpp
src/movepick.h
src/search.cpp