Embed default net, and simplify using non-default nets
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 23 Aug 2020 11:43:38 +0000 (13:43 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sat, 29 Aug 2020 19:56:00 +0000 (21:56 +0200)
commit406979ea12ee7828e079871b0f9f3dc8f127a741
tree18a60e60bfeda280d5b7463f05381b0abd62a1df
parent242a7d9fead561488ca176a4687deef8859918f2
Embed default net, and simplify using non-default nets

covers the most important cases from the user perspective:

It embeds the default net in the binary, so a download of that binary will result
in a working engine with the default net. The engine will be functional in the default mode
without any additional user action.

It allows non-default nets to be used, which will be looked for in up to
three directories (working directory, location of the binary, and optionally a specific default directory).
This mechanism is also kept for those developers that use MSVC,
the one compiler that doesn't have an easy mechanism for embedding data.

It is possible to disable embedding, and instead specify a specific directory, e.g. linux distros might want to use
CXXFLAGS="-DNNUE_EMBEDDING_OFF -DDEFAULT_NNUE_DIRECTORY=/usr/share/games/stockfish/" make -j ARCH=x86-64 profile-build

passed STC non-regression:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f4a581c150f0aef5f8ae03a
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.25,-0.25}
Total: 66928 W: 7202 L: 7147 D: 52579
Ptnml(0-2): 291, 5309, 22211, 5360, 293

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3070

fixes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/3030

No functional change.
13 files changed:
AUTHORS
README.md
appveyor.yml
src/Makefile
src/evaluate.cpp
src/evaluate.h
src/incbin/UNLICENCE [new file with mode: 0644]
src/incbin/incbin.h [new file with mode: 0755]
src/main.cpp
src/misc.cpp
src/misc.h
src/nnue/evaluate_nnue.cpp
src/ucioption.cpp