Active Reparenting
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 10 Apr 2012 17:00:31 +0000 (18:00 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 10 Apr 2012 17:22:58 +0000 (18:22 +0100)
commit44432f67d724573d0f6e3cfea6165c9b1d125d72
tree172e68b9b51bad6c31abeb04cbe49a6503bae39f
parentd66b765eb6b3725b468a3c5f8f2cdb9693fd6bdf
Active Reparenting

In Young Brothers Wait Concept (YBWC) available slaves are
booked by the split point master, then start to search below
the assigned split point and, once finished, return in idle
state waiting to be booked by another master.

This patch introduces "Active Reparenting" so that when a
slave finishes its job on the assigned split point, instead
of passively waiting to be booked, searches a suitable active
split point and reprents itselfs to that split point. Then
immediately starts to search below the split point in exactly
the same way of the others split point's slaves. This reduces
to zero the time waiting in idle loop and should increase
scalability especially whit many (8 or more) cores.

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h
src/types.h