Make engine ONE_PLY value independent
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 19 Aug 2016 10:17:38 +0000 (12:17 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 27 Aug 2016 07:12:25 +0000 (09:12 +0200)
commit4c5cbb1b14b283679e3e0096b7973c97b75088f3
tree167660efe301ad4cd5dbb622d011fece388a6a67
parent133808851dc172e0e2cbdb116e34592db6b19deb
Make engine ONE_PLY value independent

This non-functional change patch is a deep work to allow SF to be independent
from the actual value of ONE_PLY (currently set to 1). I have verified SF is
now independent for ONE_PLY values 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32 and 256.

This patch gives consistency to search code and enables future work, opening
the door to safely tweaking the ONE_PLY value for any reason.

Verified for no speed regression at STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 95643 W: 17728 L: 17737 D: 60178

No functional change.
src/search.cpp
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h
src/types.h