Add min pawn-king distance to endgame evaluation
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 17 Jun 2012 08:18:18 +0000 (09:18 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 22 Jun 2012 05:31:18 +0000 (06:31 +0100)
commit4f5680950a4e4c55da2877e1be91efd2be1c76ba
tree3e94f6b73367776f69394c5421edda0a800cb450
parent9793fa1906cc204fc2a520ebb8dd3093f7fc7e40
Add min pawn-king distance to endgame evaluation

At endgame time push the king near his pawns (actually
one of them).

Original idea is from Critter (although slightly different),
implementation is mine and is completely different from the
original, in particular it is different the algorithm to
compute the minimum distance from pawns.

After 19895 games at 15"+0.05
Mod vs Orig 3638 - 3248 - 13009 ELO +7

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/pawns.cpp