Don't special case for abs(beta) >= VALUE_MATE_IN_MAX_PLY
authorEelco de Groot <eelcogro@gmail.com>
Mon, 16 Jun 2014 19:46:42 +0000 (21:46 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 16 Jun 2014 19:50:14 +0000 (21:50 +0200)
commit55a3e0af8d0d1e169cc8b16541ffeb41e157b66e
tree02b0d44d4e5a5c44d5864ae289a95a55d789449c
parent66c93245e08e812ea2491a12b0341fb2e270066f
Don't special case for abs(beta) >= VALUE_MATE_IN_MAX_PLY

Remove from the search this special case and apply
null search and razoring also in mate positions.

Tested in no-regression mode and passed both

STC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 65431 W: 10860 L: 10810 D: 43761

and LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 34928 W: 4814 L: 4713 D: 25401

This patch kicks in only in mate positions and in
these cases it seems beneficial in finding mates
faster as Yery Spark measured on the Chest mate suite:

Total number of positions 6425
Fixed nodes 200K per position

master: 1049
new:    1154

And also the 5446 'hard' positions again with 2000K nodes
(those not found by both engines in 200K nodes):

master: 1069
new:    1395

bench: 7710548
src/search.cpp