Fix progress issue with shuffling extensions
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 13 Jun 2019 20:32:23 +0000 (22:32 +0200)
committerStephane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 20 Jun 2019 14:15:57 +0000 (16:15 +0200)
commit59f1d0c7dd3fcca307a18ff493ce07e290754a2b
tree6e39ac19158449d861e5ba13764f730ac15de4aa
parent466daf6fbafd1f58f064c2fa03d2fa2c1315c4f5
Fix progress issue with shuffling extensions

Fixes issues #2126 and #2189 where no progress in rootDepth is made for particular fens:

8/8/3P3k/8/1p6/8/1P6/1K3n2 b - - 0 1
8/1r1rp1k1/1b1pPp2/2pP1Pp1/1pP3Pp/pP5P/P5K1/8 w - - 79 46

the cause are the shuffle extensions. Upon closer analysis, it appears that in these cases a shuffle extension is made for every node searched, and progess can not be made. This patch implements a fix, namely to limit the number of extensions relative to the number of nodes searched. The ratio employed is 1/4, which fixes the issues seen so far, but it is a heuristic, and I expect that certain positions might require an even smaller fraction.

The patch was tested as a bug fix and passed:

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 56601 W: 12633 L: 12581 D: 31387
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d02b37a0ebc5925cf09f6da

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 52042 W: 8907 L: 8837 D: 34298
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d0319420ebc5925cf09fe57

Furthermore, to confirm that the shuffle extension in this form indeed still brings Elo, one more test at VLTC was performed:
VLTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 142022 W: 20963 L: 20435 D: 100624
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d03630d0ebc5925cf0a011a

Bench: 3961247
src/search.cpp
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h