Reintroduce null move dynamic reduction
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 Jul 2009 06:05:54 +0000 (07:05 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jul 2009 05:08:06 +0000 (06:08 +0100)
commit620cfbb6760911a9f2ce188cd7244d86a76953c2
treec9ac4d21de6d4f50958f94c0c5a333e673d66dc0
parentfe523b2d18c0bb4533aad296fd44d504f67f2d4a
Reintroduce null move dynamic reduction

Test extension of LMR horizon to 3 plies alone, without
touching null move search. To keep the patch minimal we still
don't change LMR horizon in PV search. This will be the object
of the next patch.

Result seems good after 998 games:

Mod vs Orig  +252/=518/-228 51.20%  511.0/998 +8 ELO

So dynamic null move reduction seems a bit stronger then
fixed reduction even with LMR horizon set to 3.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp