Simplify condition in space definition
authorJerry Donald Watson <j1.donald1@gmail.com>
Mon, 9 Apr 2018 23:28:26 +0000 (00:28 +0100)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 10 Apr 2018 15:47:55 +0000 (17:47 +0200)
commit62619fa228ff9b1f1adfbe023ce4c417807fdeba
treeb4d682c1b0357b52101d2907257c37016e5845ce
parentb88374b14a7baa2f8e4c37b16a2e653e7472adcc
Simplify condition in space definition

We remove an unnecessary condition in the definition of safe squares
in the space evaluation. Only the squares which are occupied by our
pawns or attacked by our opponent's pawns are now excluded.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 21096 W: 4321 L: 4199 D: 12576
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5acbf7510ebc59547e537d4e

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 23437 W: 3577 L: 3460 D: 16400
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5acc0f750ebc59547e537d6a

It may be possible to further refine the definition of such safe squares.

Bench: 5351765
src/evaluate.cpp