Revert "Further increase safe checks bonus"
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 20 Oct 2013 07:55:12 +0000 (09:55 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 20 Oct 2013 08:04:43 +0000 (10:04 +0200)
commit67f91bc5eaed821f35f09c9490a80200e1ab6951
treefe59997d3b7e0761b912997786554403ef737d04
parent4bc2374450e30101392510006373a4a9ae2da4fd
Revert "Further increase safe checks bonus"

This reverts commit 4bc2374450e30101392 for
two reasons.

First regression testing shows almost equal
score:

Before the patch:
ELO: 49.75 +-2.5 (95%) LOS: 100.0%
Total: 27205 W: 7113 L: 3244 D: 16848

After the patch:
ELO: 48.87 +-2.9 (95%) LOS: 100.0%
Total: 20860 W: 5478 L: 2563 D: 12819

Second, and more sensible to me, this patch
increases safe check bonuses to 4 times their
original value (!) and considering:

- Values were already well tuned

- Values are highly critical

- King safety is highly critical, very TC
  dependent and very difficult to test

- Our testing coverage is partial (self-testing,
  blitz times)

I think is better to be safe than sorry and so
I revert the patch.

bench: 8440524
src/evaluate.cpp