Obey skipQuiets strictly in MovePicker
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Thu, 8 Feb 2018 09:45:45 +0000 (10:45 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 8 Feb 2018 09:46:27 +0000 (10:46 +0100)
commit69067e1988ea945977d586a1442a22be0b55671a
tree8a833c896030247ca8c23ec3d5ab50cf3ad031cb
parent312a248fa9123c48613dcadf2f17c6fd5e0d2a48
Obey skipQuiets strictly in MovePicker

The current logic in master is to continue return quiet moves if their
history score is above 0. It appears as though this check can be
removed, which is also more logically consistent with the “skipQuiets”
semantics used in search.cpp.

This patch may open new opportunitiesto get Elo by changing or
tuning the definition of 'moveCountPruning' in line 830 of search.cpp,
because obeying skipQuiets without checking the history scores makes
the search more sensitive to 'moveCountPruning'.

STC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 34780 W: 7680 L: 7584 D: 19516
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a79f8d80ebc5902971a99db

LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 38757 W: 6732 L: 6641 D: 25384
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a7afebe0ebc5902971a9a46

Bench 4954595
src/movepick.cpp