Simplify trapped rook
authorMike Whiteley <mike@whiteley.org>
Thu, 15 Feb 2018 18:34:23 +0000 (19:34 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 15 Feb 2018 18:38:09 +0000 (19:38 +0100)
commit80ea80e4515e8ed7033ab2a8b22463865fb68979
treea7bd6c20e465f5858bc2d87c11e1dec4f41f1efb
parent860223c5e6b2df53af0415dbbbfdd4834f083708
Simplify trapped rook

As far as can tell, semiopenFiles are set if there is a pawn anywhere on
the file. The removed condition would be true even if the pawns were very
advanced, which doesn't make sense if we're looking for a trapped rook.
Seems the engine fairs better with this removed. My guess s that the
condition that mobility is 3 or less does this well enough.

Begs the question whether this is a mobility issue alone... not sure.
Should I do LTC test?

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 13377 W: 3009 L: 2871 D: 7497
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a855be40ebc590297cc8166

Passed LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 16288 W: 2813 L: 2685 D: 10790
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a8575a80ebc590297cc817e

Bench: 5006365
src/evaluate.cpp
src/pawns.h