Tweak Late Move Reduction at root
authorStefan Geschwentner <Stefan-Geschwentner@web.de>
Sun, 25 Aug 2019 19:45:58 +0000 (21:45 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <stephanenicoletsuriphone@gmail.com>
Mon, 26 Aug 2019 06:49:55 +0000 (08:49 +0200)
commit8fec8834715a440ac18e24e130888c2c60bab352
tree0f3bcc09816ef2d2cafd6e72e84b398664b54ab7
parent0e295fee25a41962d234c0833e1f7ca29e4c2189
Tweak Late Move Reduction at root

Maintain best move counter at the root and allow there only moves which has a counter
of zero for Late Move Reduction. For compensation only the first three moves are excluded
from Late Move Reduction per default instead the first four moves.

What we can further do:

- here we use a simple counting scheme but perhaps some aging to fade out early iterations
  could be helpful
- use the best move counter also at inner nodes for LMR and/or pruning

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.50,4.50]
Total: 17414 W: 3984 L: 3733 D: 9697
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d6234bb0ebc5939d09f2aa2

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 38058 W: 6448 L: 6166 D: 25444
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d62681a0ebc5939d09f2f27

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2282

Bench: 3568210
src/search.cpp
src/search.h
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h