Remove QueenOn7th and QueenOnPawn
authorLucas Braesch <lucas.braesch@gmail.com>
Thu, 3 Apr 2014 13:31:42 +0000 (21:31 +0800)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Apr 2014 09:26:44 +0000 (11:26 +0200)
commitbe641e881fdfdf3354453381f832fe7822e7c731
treecdb1bbfb93d05ed499a7e6138beb160ba7fdd563
parent3b19ea6ae5291ecc989df7499998e7856f3c1c5a
Remove QueenOn7th and QueenOnPawn

Small simplification.

Passed SPRT(-3,1) both at STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 17051 W: 3132 L: 3005 D: 10914

and LTC:
LLR: 4.55 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 24890 W: 3842 L: 3646 D: 17402

The rationale behind this is that I've never managed to add a
Queen on 7th rank bonus in DiscoCheck, because it never showed
to be positive (evne slightly) in testing. The only thing that
worked is Rook on 7th rank.

In terms of SF code, it seemed natural to group it with QueenOnPawn
as well as those are done together. I know you're against groupping
in general, but when it comes to non regression test, you are being
more conservative by groupping. If the group passes SPRT(-3,1) it's
safer to commit, than test every component in SPRT(-3,1) and end up
with the risk of commiting several -1 elo regression instead of just
one -1 elo regression.

In chess terms, perhaps it's just easier to manouver a Queen (which
can more also diagonaly) than a Rook. Therefore you can let the search
do its job without needing eval ad-hoc terms to guide it. For the Rook
which takes more moves to manouver such eval terms can be (marginally)
useful.

bench: 7473314
src/evaluate.cpp