Help GCC to optimize msb() to single instruction
authorAndrey Neporada <neporada@gmail.com>
Sat, 3 Dec 2016 08:37:07 +0000 (12:37 +0400)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@users.noreply.github.com>
Sat, 3 Dec 2016 08:37:07 +0000 (09:37 +0100)
commitbf8b45fe6305c89a9a30f660de34164cf3bdcdf2
treea54352e300cb018b6258f2a60fc2558b2fbc6bb9
parente70da0d2eb20cffee505c4e7ef61399de7d3fa16
Help GCC to optimize msb() to single instruction

GCC compiles builtin_clzll to “63 ^ BSR”. BSR is processor instruction "Bit Scan Reverse".
So old msb() function is basically 63 - 63 ^ BSR.
Unfortunately, GCC fails to simplify this expression.

Old function compiles to

    bsrq    %rdi, %rdi
    movl    $63, %eax
    xorq    $63, %rdi
    subl    %edi, %eax
    ret

New function compiles to

    bsrq    %rdi, %rax
    ret

BTW, Clang compiles both function to the same (optimal) code.

No functional change.
src/bitboard.h