Increase reduction for captures.
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Thu, 2 Apr 2020 03:33:53 +0000 (06:33 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Thu, 2 Apr 2020 13:11:16 +0000 (15:11 +0200)
commitc14f4877cf8067e0913a6db4ab05fef9a853c1d0
treef2016ac6cc27338bacc83c5c84f30308be9e7714
parent375e4eeaf5e739c176c38ff05ae954bb60a98987
Increase reduction for captures.

The idea behind this patch is that if static eval is really bad so capturing of current piece on spot will still produce a position with an eval much lower than alpha then our best chance is to create some kind of king attack. So captures without check are mostly worse than captures with check and can be reduced more.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e8514b44411759d9d098543
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 46196 W: 9039 L: 8781 D: 28376
Ptnml(0-2): 750, 5412, 10628, 5446, 862

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e8530134411759d9d09854c
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 23462 W: 3228 L: 2988 D: 17246
Ptnml(0-2): 186, 2125, 6849, 2405, 166

close https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2612

bench 4742598
src/search.cpp