Tweak probcut margin with 'improving' flag
authorJerry Donald Watson <j1.donald1@gmail.com>
Tue, 13 Mar 2018 22:19:36 +0000 (23:19 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 13 Mar 2018 22:21:46 +0000 (23:21 +0100)
commitc5f6bd517c68e16c3ead7892e1d83a6b1bb89b69
tree776a29ca375e7d51e9f4a792301606fbef1bf8a2
parentb2961aded6cd2807a8c4899e090e28fcb2161310
Tweak probcut margin with 'improving' flag

Adjust ProbCut rBeta by whether the score is improving, and also
set improving to false when in check. More precisely, this patch
has two parts:

1) the increased beta threshold for ProbCut is now adjusted based
   on whether the score is improving
2) when in check, improving is always set to false.

Co-authored by Joost VandeVondele (@vondele) and Bill Henry (@VoyagerOne).

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 13480 W: 2840 L: 2648 D: 7992
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa693fe0ebc59029781004c

LTC:
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 25895 W: 4099 L: 3880 D: 17916
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5aa6ac940ebc59029781006e

In terms of opportunities for future work opened up by this patch,
the ProbCut rBeta formula could probably be tuned to gain more Elo.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1485

Bench: 5328254
src/search.cpp