Space bonus and number of blocked pawns
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Apr 2020 01:13:50 +0000 (04:13 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Apr 2020 06:29:20 +0000 (08:29 +0200)
commitca4e399ea6d88f8f71c8fd692566223496b10f78
tree63dfe0c61e52a16f5a2ce04f9c11fce02cdb8aeb
parent5c58f6712667076babe9ebaac1689436721c42be
Space bonus and number of blocked pawns

This patch refines the recently introduced interaction between
the space bonus and the number of blocked pawns in a position.

* pawns count as blocked also if their push square is attacked by 2 enemy pawns;
* overall dependence is stronger as well as offset;
* bonus increase is capped at 9 blocked pawns in position;

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e94560663d105aebbab243d
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 29500 W: 5842 L: 5603 D: 18055
Ptnml(0-2): 504, 3443, 6677, 3562, 564

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e95b383c2aaa99f75d1a14d
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 63504 W: 8329 L: 7974 D: 47201
Ptnml(0-2): 492, 5848, 18720, 6197, 495

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2631

bench 4956028
src/evaluate.cpp
src/pawns.cpp