Smaller and faster profile-build binaries
authormstembera <MissingEmail@email>
Sat, 5 Apr 2014 10:46:17 +0000 (12:46 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Apr 2014 10:48:20 +0000 (12:48 +0200)
commitd28ea7b518747b9a8a98686b8ef933f4ca60aaf3
treed9f34e00919c76a192a97a17ae5bd95ff679f440
parentbe641e881fdfdf3354453381f832fe7822e7c731
Smaller and faster profile-build binaries

I have noticed that increasing the bench depth produces
progressively smaller and slightly faster executables at
the cost of longer compile times.  Also using bench "time"
instead of "depth" seems to produce slightly smaller/faster
executables  given comparable compile times.

I have made a new Makefile that generates smaller and
about 1% to 2% faster profile executables at only a
little extra compile time.  On  my mobile 2GHz i7 a
full profile build time goes from 3'48" to 4'13" and
the exe goes down by 5% from 416,310 bytes to 395,567
bytes.

No functional change.
src/Makefile