King proximity tweak for passed pawns
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Sat, 30 Nov 2019 14:47:43 +0000 (09:47 -0500)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 1 Dec 2019 18:12:39 +0000 (19:12 +0100)
commitf0047ce08e655e61ca07508cb9793405f75286f9
treefa9c1cd78fdadfa5187152fa541de3124970ea33
parent54253bcce69a0ebc3e6bc4c35dfa76f8ff46521e
King proximity tweak for passed pawns

Decrease slightly the penalty for opponent king distance to passed pawn.
Instead of 5:2 ratio (or 20:8) we now have 19:8

STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5de281b2727dc1d26718a673
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 28638 W: 6297 L: 6104 D: 16237

LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5de2a2ff727dc1d26718a67b
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 59586 W: 9766 L: 9429 D: 40391

Where to go from here:
Further tests will try a similar tweak on the friendly king proximity penalty,
because recent experiments indicate that this penalty is quite sensitive,
but I wanted to try first on the larger term.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2435

bench: 5258928

---------------

Increasing the penalty ratio to 21:8 was neutral.
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5de2814d727dc1d26718a671

Decreasing the penalty ratio a bit more to 9:4 seems less promising
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5de2f4c2727dc1d26718a691
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5de32ecc727dc1d26718a6b0
src/evaluate.cpp