Use (strict) greater-than-operator for 'improving'
authorGuenther Demetz <guenther.demetz@wuerth-phoenix.com>
Thu, 16 Jan 2020 07:39:20 +0000 (08:39 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 23 Jan 2020 17:43:47 +0000 (18:43 +0100)
commitf63d112c710fcd38c9d4946f38603b9c2b4689a4
treefdd466bf2e2103bc7f2fd10d3b74a615ba5cceb1
parent7ed817d7e4847196a5ba0a3aded0519000074be7
Use (strict) greater-than-operator for 'improving'

Currently on a normal bench run in ~0,7% of cases 'improving' is set to
true although the static eval isn't improving at all, just keeping
equal. It looks like the strict gt-operator is more appropriate here,
since it returns to 'improving' its literal meaning without sideffects.

STC {-1.00,3.00} failed yellow:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e1ec38c8fd5f550e4ae1c28
LLR: -2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.00,3.00}
Total: 53155 W: 10170 L: 10109 D: 32876
Ptnml(0-2): 863, 6282, 12251, 6283, 892

non-regression LTC passed:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e1f1c0d8fd5f550e4ae1c41
LLR: 2.98 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 23961 W: 3114 L: 3018 D: 17829
Ptnml(0-2): 163, 2220, 7114, 2298, 170

CLoses https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2496

bench: 4561386
src/search.cpp