Allow a slave to 'late join' another splitpoint
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Sat, 3 May 2014 17:29:31 +0000 (18:29 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 7 May 2014 06:38:56 +0000 (08:38 +0200)
commitf6e98a924af233a5e69f3494168cf5d80168c705
treee7092a02af1667aa32409017b9fb3124e7d4f557
parent8f6a494ad70eccf744c1b03d23313fe06d131ded
Allow a slave to 'late join' another splitpoint

Instead of waiting to be allocated, actively search
for another split point to join when finishes its
search. Also modify split conditions.

This patch has been tested with 7 threads SMP and
passed both STC:

LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 2885 W: 519 L: 410 D: 1956

And a reduced-LTC at  25+0.05
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 4401 W: 684 L: 566 D: 3151

Was then retested against regression in 3 thread case
at standard LTC of  60+0.05:

LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-4.00,0.00]
Total: 40809 W: 5446 L: 5406 D: 29957

bench: 8802105
src/search.cpp
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h